Compressors/Limiters/Gate AGAIN!

• Members

In the neverending build of my PA, I am looking to add C/L/G for the drums and bass guitar. How do you hook into these when using a snake. Do you have a smaller sub snake (?) I wouldn't think inserting would work. Do you run all the drums (4 toms, sn,bass) through C/L/G or just the bass? Been looking at the DBX 166, 266, 1066. Any comments there. Classic rock music w/ some bass dance tunes, (2) sp4 800w, (2) sp118 1200w.

Is there a power conditioner that is rated for more than 15A for the amp rack?

Thanks,

Keith

• Members

Is there any alternetive besides a distro for a 2800 watt amp rack? Most (ok, ALL) bars we play at we obviously don't use that to capacity, but we've got an outdoor coming up and I'm sure they'll get pushed prety hard. I checked the venue and the S.G. tapped into the panel. I asked if he PLUGGED IN, he said no. I won't go any further than plugging a distro in. I have a feeling I know the answer, but as a newbie I gotta ask. Do most of you use a distro? Homemade or bought? (Father in law is an electrician) if so how many of your venues have a plug in ie. dryer plug?

Keith

• Members

I'd say that 90% of the places I go have a 50A plug for stage power. The other 10% just have regular wall outlets.

I ordered a little distro from Amp Shop. It ran me a couple hundred, and should be fine for almost everywhere we go.

I'd say that about 1/3 of the places we go that have a 50A plug also have their own distro that they'll let me use for free. The other 2/3 just say that the band usually brings that.

Of the distros I've seen around here, they've all been regular breaker boxes with outlets on them, either on a rolling base or just on a piece of plywood. They look a little less than professional, to say the least, but they definitely get the job done. I just doubt that they're significantly cheaper than having one made for you by Amp Shop.