SM57 vs SM57 Beta for Vocals????

• Members

I've been using SM58's almost since they came out and although I have no real complaint, I've had a Grammy nominated singer tell me that he always prefered a SM57 for vocals as live mics in that price range.

So, I'm looking at the SM 57 Beta's also and what appeals to me is that they supposedly have a higher output with lower feedback tendancy. I had been singing for too many years before I took some training and have a 'road voice.' I sound cool but don't have the projection that I did "back in the day."

Like to hear some opinions from the lead vocalists out there.

• Members

Chris Squire still to this day uses an SM57 for vocals (without a windscreen)... personally it doesn't do a lot for me, and the lack of a grille makes it more difficult to judge exactly how close to get to it. The Beta 57a is however my vocal mic of choice - if I hadn't already had 3 SM58s (which are almost never used) before I tried one, I'd never have bought them.

• Members

I am not a fan of the SM-57 for vocals, but it will work just fine as long as the windscreen is used. Without the windscreen, the grille mesh gets covered with spit and rusts/gets funky really quickly. It's not easy to replace.

The SM-58, Beta 58 and B-57 are all good vocal mics, but with the B-57, keeping the end clean & free of spit damage is still a problem.

• Members

several years ago the band I was in rented a bunch of stuff to make a recording at home. We got some 57's and some 57 betas. We used them for everything, instruments, vocals, all of it.

that weekend the 57 beta became my favorite mic of all time. Yeah, I know, there are a million better ones for one reason or another. But the 57 beta gave me what my ears wanted to hear.

Your mileage may vary. Rent one and take it for a week or two. swap it out from time to time, maybe set to set. I heard the difference but I wasn't on stage. I think it would perform like a champ but that's conjecture.

• Members