MIDI Stage (Foot) Controlled Lighting.

btravis77

• Members

Hey everyone.I am fairly new to MIDI and DMX controllers. I've controlled but not programmed a live, stage side lighting rig that was running through Ableton Live, so I have a little experience with this and understand that a Laptop is the most diverse option here. Thing is, I want to ditch the Laptop for this current situation. My research has pointed me towards the Behringer FCB1010 and the Chauvet Obey 40. And after looking into both products it does appear as if they will do what I need, for the most part. My main question is, can I assign specific Banks in the FCB1010 to act as independent and specific Scene/Chase storage for specific songs within a set? For example, Bank 01 is all of the lighting Scenes/Chases for Song A (hopefully clicked through in order of progression), Bank 02 is all of the Scenes/Chases for Song B, Etc, Etc, Etc (until the end of the show). Another question is, would it be possible to assign over all dimming control to one if the expression pedals? This way it can be used to black out the stage at the end of songs and bring up dim light in between songs. Any help would be greatly appreciated. And I am certainly open to different equipment if it will help to achieve my desired results. Thank you.

• Members

I have only a little experience with MIDI, and that's with keyboards and drum machines.  Getting MIDI equipment to interoperate can be a challenge. But basically it requires finding out which commands (MIDI messages) your receiving device responds to, and which commands/MIDI messages your foot controller can send.  This will probably require a "deep dive" into the documentation for both devices.