Higher Notes on Tenor Saxophone

• Members

Hey, I'm new to the sax and I have some questions.

When I'm playing the lower octave the tone is nice but when I'm playing higher I can keep that same tone. Is this normal?

I might a few more questions later :facepalm:

• Members

Hello everyone, I've just joined. I'm an artist who now lives in Switzerland :wave:

I used to play tenor sax with a blue band and sing some twenty years ago. I've just bought a Buescher Aristocrat tenor. The sound it awesome. I've only ever had a Boosey and Hawkes before. The tone is really beautiful, even though it's about 1965, and I treasure it!

My high notes are sounding great, but I'm still struggling with those low notes, sounding like a fog-horn still!

I have no shame - I've gone right down to a 1 1/2 reed and it's much better for my mouth. Any tips on putting in the reed correctly though? I mean should it exactly match the mouthpiece, over be slightly over or under. I have a selmer d80 mouthpiece.

• Members

Hello everyone, I've just joined. I'm an artist who now lives in Switzerland
:wave:

I used to play tenor sax with a blue band and sing some twenty years ago. I've just bought a Buescher Aristocrat tenor. The sound it awesome. I've only ever had a Boosey and Hawkes before. The tone is really beautiful, even though it's about 1965, and I treasure it!

My high notes are sounding great, but I'm still struggling with those low notes, sounding like a fog-horn still!

I have no shame - I've gone right down to a 1 1/2 reed and it's much better for my mouth. Any tips on putting in the reed correctly though? I mean should it exactly match the mouthpiece, over be slightly over or under. I have a selmer d80 mouthpiece.

Hello, Switzerland :wave:

You may have leaks; get the horn to a good repairman to check for them. If it is a bad enough leak problem, it is conceivable that no amount of wind or reed change will help you until the problem is rectified.

Three other things: