Paul Reed Smith (PRS) Travel Size Build

TrckyFngrz

• Members

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share a project that I'm working on... PRS Travel Size guitar build. 

Disclaimer: I'm new to guitar building and mods... So, will likely be asking around for advice for learning and lurking around all the cool projects, gear, and axes here.

Anyhow, inspiration for my project is my own CU22 model, though, it'll be more like a CE type (with bolt-on neck).   

Of a travel size, the body portion is essentially the size of a regular sheet a paper, at 8.5"W x 11.75"L.   The neck will feature 24 frets at 25.5" scale length.  Attached are some pics to share.

And some progress videos as well

Part 1: https://youtu.be/TpcWkaX64eg 

Part 2: https://youtu.be/rmdxkFaUScM

In the next steps, I plan on setting the neck angle break and establishing the neck plane. I'll be routing all of the cavities.  First time going through these steps... so am a bit nervous to not wreck the nice wood I have. I appreciate any tips/constructive comments you all might have. 

thanks for viewing!

-Tony

IMG_6478.jpg

IMG_6515.jpg

IMG_6531.jpg

Picture1.png

Picture2.png

Picture3.png

Picture4.png

• Members

I have a question of a next step...

Background: I will be using a maple bolt-on neck, which has a short tenon. I'm now thinking about extending that tenon longer to underneath the neck PU.  will still be bolt on (via screw and threaded insert), but with the bolts farther apart (length wise) to minimize rocking/torquing (that's the idea, at the least).   Was thinking of gluing on an extension piece that is about 2" longer from scrap maple; then will apply two bolts (via threaded insert) into the extended piece and two bolts into the original part. 

Question: Would this help for a stronger neck joint, or not really?  (this affects a next step of routing the neck pocket ... hopefully just once! lol)

thoughts?

thanks in advance,
-Tony

• 2 weeks later...
  • Members