Power amps with powered mixers???

• Members

Just want to put it out there that i'm new to all this jazz, and this is my first post.

I've got one Peavey 215 Dual 15" PA Speaker Cab.

To power it I use a Yamaha EMX 2000 Powered Mixer.

I'm pretty sure I'm not really milking the speaker for what it's worth with the powered mixer I've got.

The speaker has 4 ohm nominal impedance, program power rating (700 Watts), peak power capacity (1400 Watts).

The powered mixer is 200W/4 ohms.

The good rule of thumb is to pick an amplifier that can deliver power equal to twice the speaker's continuous IEC power rating???

My speaker has a continuous IEC of 700Watts right?

So the powered mixer obviously doesn't have enough power to power the amp adequately?

Do i just need to buy a power amp with 1200 Watts/ 4 ohms to hook up to my powered mixer (200W/ 4 ohms) for a total of 1400W??

Or do I just need to ditch the powered mixer and get an unpowered mixer to hook a power amp up to?

Or what???

I'm just confused with the whole thing :confused:

Thanks for being pateient and helping me with my noobish question everyone.

• Members

OK... you're missing a fair few things here. I'll try to address them.

1. In answer to your heading question: can you use a power amp with a powered head, yes, you can. However

2. You can't combine the 2 power amps into one speaker (remember that a powered mixer is essentially a mixer, and an amp, in one box). You would have to take an output from the mixer (that is whats called a line level signal) and put it into the power amp. At that stage, you'd be using only the power amp's amp, and not the on board amps on the powered mixer. There is nothing wrong with that (that is for transistor amps. Tube amps, like for guitars, are very different). You could possibly use the amps in the powered head for foldbacks.