Software Synths -- your opinions

Enigmatic

• Members

Hi, I have never used any software synths before, but I am actually in the process of purchasing a new synth.

Most of my friends have recommened Reason 2.5, which cost about $400.

On the other hand, I was planning on buying a used Korg or Roland under $1000.

Which one would you guys recommend.? I am a guitar player so i really dont know much about synths. Has anyone ever used Properllerhead's Reason? How would you compare that with pro synths.

please help me decide.

thanks.

• Members

Reason has some pretty decent synths. But it's also a sequencer, mixer, etc.

I'm still undecided on SW synths. I own NI FM7, Pro52, B4, Absynth, and Reason.

Pros- Relatively inexpensive, good to great sounds, portability. SW synths are available for most vintage synths.

Cons- UI. I like to move dials and sliders, not my mouse. Potential high CPU use and crashing.

• Members

Go with what's cheap till you have a better idea of what you want. Reason is a very capable program and you can do a lot with it.

Give the Digidesign MBox a look. You get a USB audio interface w/ 2 mic preamps and a pretty nice bundle of software which includes some kind of Digidesign version Reason. I think it's around $450. It's what I'm probably going to end up getting.

• Members

Originally posted by explody pup

Go with what's cheap till you have a better idea of what you want.

+1

If you have a computer that runs Windows or Mac OS 9 or earlier, consider a Nord Micromodular. Nova Musik is unloading them at $299 each.

For that price, it's a great little unit for learning synthesis because it comes with a nice graphical editor. The manual from what I've seen so far gives you a tutorial on synthesis. And there's a truckload of patches you can download for free from Clavia and from the Nord Modular user websites (there's a bunch of them).

And yes, you can process your guitar through it too. Hell it looks like a stompbox!