Finding a personal Voice. help a young un!

ninjaaron

• Members

I'm a guitarist of a 1 year and a half. I've come pretty far, technicaly speaking, and stylisticly I'm devloping as well. but I come here and listen to your clips, some of the the old fogies have such beautiful and imidiately recognizable styles (r0g3r, funky, Scott, Jim, Rob Quail...). Is this the kind of thing you consiously work on, or does it only come with time?

I want to Devlope a recognizable style...

what say you?

• Members

From my personal experience, you really never stick to one style. You don't suddenly write something and say 'That's it!'. You are always developing, always progressing. Of course, the further you go, the more individual your music sounds. But one is always looking for new ways to express oneself.

My advice is to listen to as much music as you can, of many different styles. Consciously or subconsciously, you assimilate what you hear, and often things will creep into your music that you would never have expected. Just go with the flow, and keep writing.

Finding your style is really exactly that. It's your style, and you have to find it.

• Members

well, I belive what you say is true. but, to use funky as an example, when you hear a cyber jam he is on as soon as he begins playing you can say "hey, thats funky!"

same is true with many professional guitarist... Gilmour, Clapton, YJM, Satch, Vai, Miles Davis, Hendrix, SRV, Petrucci... and all the other countless greats. They sound like themselves. I sound like me, but in a more generic way. I mean to say, I sound good (to me), but I'm not gonna make people say "hey, thats ninjaaron."