Use of a metronome

djchase7

• Members

Interesting indeed. I've met so many people and had so many students that hate metronomes. Why? Because it is the ultimate truthsayer when it comes to rhythm and they can't take it when they can't play in time with one. Metronomes are indespensable and the more complex the music, the more indespensable, I don't care who you are, you should use one. :)

• Members
Originally posted by d0zerz

I used to be a drummer so when I tap my foot it's a metronome
:)

Seriously though does anyone play to drum loops? that's a lot more fun than playing to
click...click...click...

Well, you have to take it in context. I and many others are trained solo musicians. You generally don't play Fernando Sor sonatas to a drum kit ( might be an interesting experiment though). The aim should also be, eventually, to set the metronome to only play the first beat in the measure. That way you're not hearing every subdivision of the beats and are forced to feel the rest of the measure and try to land one beat one of the next measure.

• Members

I'm totally behind don on this one.

We were sort of discussing this on another thread.

Sometimes people will fall into a trap where they learn their counting, but can't subdivide their counts....so they struggle with trying to think in the finest granulatiry a iece will have..throughout the piece!!!!

this not only raises rhythmic overhead, it messes will the feel of a piece as one sees an 1/8 as simply 2 X 1/16 so the diff between, say cut and common time is totally lost to them

• Members

Originally posted by dongenaro