In A Rut - Need a way out.

jumpwin

• Members

I've been playing for 15 years, although it sounds a long time I don't feel like my playing has progressed much since I learnt the pentatonic, major/minor, and blues scales. I find myself running with the same licks and similar sounding solos. Luckily my band members don't seem to have noticed, or aren't bothered! I need to inject some variation and life back into my playing, but don't know where to start. I'm not the kind that will sit and learn someone else's music, prefering to do my own thing. But what do I need to learn? Any links, advice or help would be brilliant.

• Members

I don't know if this will help, but at some point in the 90's I completely lost interest/faith in what I was doing with the guitar. I didn't think I was improving at all and had no motivation to even do anything about it..so you're a step ahead there at least :).

What turned it round for me was getting completely immersed in a couple of totally different genres than the rock/metal I grew up on. Namely, hip-hop ( Public Enemy in particular) and Qawali..an Indian/Pakistani style of devotional singing (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan being the best known exponent)...neither of those two genres feature guitar, but had a profound impact on the way I play..and the way I write. Before that, I think my songwriting was fairly generic hard rock. Since then, for better or worse, I think I have something of my own...which has led me to fall in love with guitar all over again and keep searching for everything I can to make me better. (Whatever "better" means)