Newbie Issues - What did you do to learn basic open chords and play cleanly? Grrr....

• Members

I am new to guitar and just have an acoustic. I have a lesson this week (Friday). I am trying to get basic open chords down. Trying to play them cleanly.

A Major - Tough to get all 3 fingers in there. A minor is fine

B - Not even trying yet

C Maj - Tough playing at all. Biggest issue is the pinky hits more than one note

D Maj - Good. Hit A a lot

E Maj and Minor - Fine

F - not even trying yet

G Major - Fine

I do have a metronome for slowing tempos and software too.

Songs I am working on: Rolling Stones, "Dead Flowers", CCR, "Bad Moon Rising", Bob Dylan, "Knocking on Heavens Door", Pink Floyd, "Wish You Were Here".

• Members

I'm a novice guitar player, and this is something I work on all the time and struggled like you did a few months ago. :)

I don't have any tips or tricks, except to keep at it. I didn't use a metronome until recently, and struggled at 40bpm for a long time. Finally making improvements up to 60bpm on a good day.

Good luck.

• Members

Just sit down with your guitar and move from one chord to another.

Relax and don't be in a hurry to get "there".

Enjoy the journey. It takes consistent practice over a long time frame.

Just practice consistently everyday. No need to kill yourself.

• Members

Virgman, Yes, you are right. No need to kill myself. I am putting to much focus on being perfect. I feel like I have to be playing songs by first lesson. It is crazy. I need to be gentler with myself for sure. My issue is that bass is my primary instrument and I played bass since 1993, and am thinking I should be learning faster. Guitar truly is its own animal and I need to slow it down expectation wise.

• Members