USB Audio Interfaces for a new guy

Sheik Yerbouti

• Members

Hey guys,

The story goes like this. I'm a college student trying desperately to rekindle the desire to play guitar. I've been playing acoustic lately, but I want to get back into playing electric. The problem is, my cheap as heck amp really isn't helping.

I travel a lot, and bringing a guitar and an amp really isn't a great option, atleast to me. I'd much rather have a setup where I throw a USB device in my bookbag with my laptop, and have a fairly competent way to play guitar and record if I were so inclined.

So this is all incredibly new to me. And after doing research, I'm having trouble determining which USB interface I want. I've looked at the offerings from Native Instruments, Logitech, M-Audio, etc. and don't really know what I'm looking for.

I'd like to atleast one mic input, I guess. I'm not much of a singer, but maybe someday I'll try.

I'd like to spend under 150 bucks. I guess with that I could get the Guitar Rig Mobile, and a USB snowball mic. I already have a for real mic, I guess the only advantage of that setup would be simplicity.

Help me make sense of this all guys. I appreciate your help.

• Members

i would recommend this if i were on a budget...which is because im also on a budget and use this:

M-Audio Fast track pro. Great usb interface. Easy to use/setup. Its 200 bucks but if you only need 1 mic input get the fast track for 120.

REAPER. Great DAW. 60 bucks.....free unlimited demo time. Better than the stripped down version on Ableton Live you will get with the fast track.

Waves GTR Solo. Free 1 year demo amp modeler. Sounds pretty damn good and has good effects. And its free for 1 year. I think its 150 bucks after that.