Which is better Boss or line 6 for effect processors?

fuzzball

• Members

comparing the pod xt live to the gt-8, generally the word on the street is that the gt-8 is better for effects.

i recently tried out the xt live and it was pretty good. I don't think you'd be *unhappy* with it, but perhaps the gt-8 would be better. I'm looking into the gt-8 right now and am probably going to buy one for school.

Alex

• Members

I'm thinking about getting a floor pedal soon, too. Anyone try the Digitech GNX3/4 or GNX3000? I don't really *need* the drum machine & pc connection abilities, but the stompbox modelling sounds cool. I need to get to a music store one of these days and try them all out side-by-side.

• 4 weeks later...
  • Members

i bought a gnx3000 (august 19th). i have been using an old rp-1 since it was new (1992). i have tried a lot of the pedals that came out for digitech since the rp-1 (rp-7, rp-100,rp-2000) and then finally bought a gnx3000.

i have fiddled with this pedal for almost a month and decided to take it back. its too harsh for me. too bright. and when i tried to change the EQ, it turned muddy.

also i dont think there is a completely clean guitar setting possible on this unit. it always has a tad of overdrive to it. it is great if you play a heavier rock style. but for the clean settings, it didnt do it for me.

i also dont use a humbucking guitar. i am solely a single coil fan. perhaps if you use humbuckers, that will make the gnx3000 more usable.

there is a hisssss that this pedal has that (in a recording atmosphere) would drive me nuts. seems like every rp pedal i've used other than the rp-1 has that hiss.

on the good side of the gnx3000....the tremelo, delay, reverb, chorus, wah, etc. ALL sound top notch.

too bad the amp simulation didnt do anything for me.