I need a metal distortion stomp box! HELP!!!

symeboy

• Members

Hi all,

Basically i have been playing for a while now (5 years) and Im quickly getting better but i have hit a brick wall in so far as the sound i want! I have invested in a vintage marshall amp (JCM 800) and I play through a Les Paul epiphone with EMGs. I am looking for a decent distortion sound coz my amp has no natural distortion.

I have tried a boss MD-2 (absolutely aweful)

A boss Metal zone (better but too bluesy not crunchy like I want)

A digitech death metal (not bad but too noisy and not enough sustain and sounds bad with palm muting)

I am still using my zoom 606 which is the best I have at the mo. i want a clear but crunchy distortion sound (a la Gamma Ray, Dimebag, even Zakk Wylde).

Surely there is something out there?

any help appreciated.

• Members

If your JCM 800 doesn't produce any distortion on its own, I would suggest getting it fixed.

The JCM 800's claim to fame is its excellent distortion tone, and probably a quarter of the distortion boxes out there are either an attempt to, or are at least advertised as being able to reproduce the sound of a JCM 800.

• Members

Originally posted by MrMunky

If your JCM 800 doesn't produce any distortion on its own, I would suggest getting it fixed.

The JCM 800's claim to fame is its excellent distortion tone, and probably a quarter of the distortion boxes out there are either an attempt to, or are at least advertised as being able to reproduce the sound of a JCM 800.

+1

• Members
Originally posted by symeboy

Hi all,

Basically i have been playing for a while now (5 years) and Im quickly getting better but i have hit a brick wall in so far as the sound i want! I have invested in a vintage marshall amp (JCM 800) and I play through a Les Paul epiphone with EMGs. I am looking for a decent distortion sound coz my amp has no natural distortion.

I have tried a boss MD-2 (absolutely aweful)