EHX vs Boomerang for looping

Bernie Franks

• Members

with the new mod, i would consider the 16 sec a superior looper, though i havent played the boomerang. I have lots of 16 sec experience however. It is a great looper. It is the only looper i know of that does modulated loop -- meaning you can pitch shift the looped phrase at will. It is great. There is no pop at all, at least on mine. The size is smaller. There are about 4 minutes worth of recording time. There is also midi out which is useful for syncing a drum machine.

• Members

There doesn't seem to be any common standard for loopers.

Some (EHX 16, PDS8000, older Maneco's, etc) do preset time loops where you set an interval and then whatever you play in that time becomes the loop.

Some (most all the rest) do flexible loops - hit record to start and stop to stop and you set the loop length on the fly.

Some do reverse, some do multiple layers, some allow for undo, some allow for multiple independent loops, some do half speed and double speed, some allow for storage or download of loops, some do MIDI sync, etc.

First figure out what you want from a looper and then look for that feature set.

To just set up a repeating riff to jam along with, I'd suggest the DD20 or RC20, depending on how long a loop you need.

• Members

Originally posted by BmoreTele

First figure out what you want from a looper and then look for that feature set.

I regard it as a must for soundscaping and layering, the ability to combine in one loop these most basic features;

forward and reverse

normal speed/doubling/half speed (one octave up and down)

feedback control (the organic way the first layers of a loop fade out while new layers are added).

• Members

Originally posted by threm

I regard it as a must for soundscaping and layering, the ability to combine in one loop these most basic features;

forward and reverse

normal speed/doubling/half speed (one octave up and down)