Carl Martin Plexi Pedal

VH5150

• Members

Just do not expect the Plexi to sound like a Marshall through some small Fender amp, if so try to change the speaker to a Celestion type speaker.

It likes Brit voiced amps.

And using some honky humbuckers is also good;)

Or for more VH sounds of old, use humbuckers that are more open and with alittle more bite.

Niels

• Members

i've been using a plexitone for over two years now (hundreds of gigs!). the core sound is pretty cool and i really dig it.

having said that, there are two things that i would change in a heartbeat if i could.

1. the sweepable tone control - this pedal really needs separate bass and treble controls. i end up using a reverend drivetrain to boost the bass some.

2. the boost function is practically useless. it has 20 db of boost - way more than anyone would ever need! if you move that knob just a tiny bit, it'll throw the level of stage volume out the window. a 5 db boost would be a lot more practical.

other than that, i do like it otherwise it wouldn't have stayed on my board all these years.

hope they make some improvements and release the plexitone 2!

• Members

Neils

Glad to see you keeping tabs on things. Just remember that you need "hear" what the customers are saying, not just listen. Not a lecture, just an observation. I think you make great stuff!

So what is the easy fix for the boost? I don't think you need to make a Plexi2 but perhaps you could let us know if you plan to change it in the future and perhaps offer a $20.00 retrofit program to fix the boost since it seems to be something you have heard before.

I have been looking at the Plexitone for quite some time now but the clean boost is an important feature. and I already have one on my Traynor that is overboard (i.e. useless).

• Members

Originally posted by Rid

Just do not expect the Plexi to sound like a Marshall through some small Fender amp, if so try to change the speaker to a Celestion type speaker.