Who has ever had a guitar given to them by parents/spouse/friend?

Northstar

• Members

my first guitar was from my parents-- a POS from a polish factory where they also made furniture. the furniture probably sounded better thatn the guitar. i was thankful but knew it was a cheap-ass guitar even though i was a noob.

i inherited my grandfather's handmade classical guitar made by Pinmentel in New Mexico. i'm really glad i got it, but OTOH i wish i got some of his electric gear, as i'm pretty sure he had some nice stuff.

• Members

My mommy (note: Yes, I still call her mommy, even though I'm 23 and am living on my own dollar, 2.5 hours away) bought my first 3 - not without consulting me first, though :) The first 2 were indirectly consulted. I'd say, "This would be nice" at some point, and if it was near a holiday, I got it (That's how I got my Rogue bass, and my Ibanez GRX20Z). My BC Rich was purchased after we went to a music shop to get my bass trombone cleaned - I was testing out some of the guitars, and ended up playing the Platinum Bich model for 3 hours. It felt so good, and fit my sitting playing style so well, she asked me if I wanted it - Christmas was coming up - so I said "Heck yes".

My mommy knows better than to buy me a random gift without knowing that I myself would have selected it. Granted, I made poor choices on my first 2 guitars (the bass especially), but they were MY choices.

Of course, same goes for me to her. Last gift I got her was a print of a photography piece she loved. It was back when I was first looking into selling my own artwork, and was checking out the DeviantPrints service - I was showing her a few pieces I liked, and she started browsing on her own. She showed a few to me that she liked, and that's how the gift was selected.