Boss: Overdrive vs Super Overdrive

goth70

• Members

As incredible as it sounds, I have never in my life owned a Boss pedal. So I thought I'd ask you guys.

My friend (guitar hero fanatic becoming an aspiring real player) wants to get a Boss because its in her price range. I have no experience with them. The OD-3 is never in stock locally.

What are the differences between the Overdrive and the Super Overdrive? Is it just more gain with the super, or is there a tone difference? I assume they are TS-9 based????

She almost sent off for a Line 6 Crunchtone today based on clips, but I said let's ask the forum first, Boss is probably better if you are going cheap.

• Members

Well if it cuts bass the Super is out of the running.

She has a little VOX. A 15 watter or whatever the smallest tube combo that they make. She just wants some dirt at living room volumes. She's just a chord-er likes the jangly pop and alternative stuff. No wailing solos or SRV stuff.

• Members

Well if it cuts bass the Super is out of the running.

She has a little VOX. A 15 watter or whatever the smallest tube combo that they make. She just wants some dirt at living room volumes. She's just a chord-er likes the jangly pop and alternative stuff. No wailing solos or SRV stuff.

i really think the sd-1 is what you need (im not trying to sell you mine, just my opinion.)

it doesnt cut as much bass as they say, and its perfect for living room jams.

• Members

i have an OS 2 and i love it to bits!! it's not as warm or subtle as my tube screamer but still you get sexy overdrive and heavy distortion!! two pedals in one... the colour knob is quite sensitive which i like.... but i always have issues with the tone control though, dont know why... maybe its my amp, but im particular with tone controls on pedals. on the MT2 theres a great EQ selection but i dont like pedals that just give you the one tone control between high and low

• Members