MicrowaveXT, JD-800, or original V-synth?

psychematic

• Members

So I've narrowed down my first hardware purchase to one of these three synths. I'm a psytrance/Goa producer with a budget of $1000. I am looking for unique, high quality tones but more important for me is the overall workflow and control surface. I'm the kind of guy who likes to sit down and start turning knobs to be surprised and inspired.

I have a full software setup on my computer so I'm looking for something out of my hardware that I cannot get through software... which really boils down to the custom control surface. The music I make requires a lot of real-time tweaking.

And I don't do presets. They will be wiped from the machine when I get it.

My hunch is the V-synth... but the Microwave and the JD-800 have such a robust fan-base that I feel I must consider them as well. I've heard entire Goa albums made from the JD-800 and all those sliders look like heaven. The MicrowaveXT seems like an overall favorite, but I'm curious if there are modern software synths that can stand up to it these days.

Any advice, stories or suggestions (even other synths) would be appreciated.

• Members

Hi there! I listen to all sorts of trance. My best bet is that you get the microwave XT. Astral projection uses one alot on there tracks. The V-synth is also good for it too if you got a couple of drumloops, you can create some twisted things with it. However, your best bet is the microwave XT. Astral projection aslo use the JD-800 ALOT to on their tracks. Why won't you try to get both? The Nord Leads have a very organic sound to them. They cost 1000 and less.

• Members

I'm not all that jazzed about the Nords and Viruses... I've got all the VA stuff covered in software. Besides, the V-synth has some VA functionality anyways, though that's just a nice addition and not the reason I'm considering it.