if i want really good EP sounds, decent piano, and some pads in portable keyboard...

• Members

Hiya folks... I'm a guitarist who needs some help figuring this stuff out... maybe you're sick of clueless guitarists coming on here, so i apologize if it happens too often.

Anywho, my band wants to add keys, but we've always relied on our computers for keyboard sounds before. Now though, we'd like to have a portable keyboard with good sounds!

We're looking in the $300-500 range (for used equipment, we're perfectly happy with used stuff), and our top priority is good electric piano sounds, followed by grand piano sounds, and finally, perhaps some synthy pad sounds.

In my experience, i've always much preferred setting up my own synth sounds (using the analog moddeling plugins i've got) to any preset synth sounds, so do you think it might behoove us to get a digital piano for the above stuff and then carry around a little sound module connected to the digital piano via midi? Are there affordable sound modules that you can connect to your computer and edit just like you'd edit a plugin??

• Members

There's that magical $500 budget again. ;)

For electric and accoustic pianos and usable "synthy sounds", I'd aim at some flavor of Yamaha Motif. You might find an original "classic" Motif 6 for around that, or if you could beef up the budget a hair more, a new MM6 would do, too.

• Members

I want to know what's up with this $300-$500 range that all the guitarists seem to have? Maybe this is a common price range for guitars?

C'mon, you gee-tar players...! Open up those wallets a little! Double that limit to $1000 and your sonic choices increase ten-fold!

Silly gee-tar players. :lol::poke:

• Members

I want to know what's up with this $300-$500 range that all the guitarists seem to have? Maybe this is a common price range for guitars?

C'mon, you gee-tar players...! Open up those wallets a little! Double that limit to $1000 and your sonic choices increase ten-fold!