Noob Question: snyth, organ, and piano play styles

35miles

• Members

I'm trying to understand the difference in play styles of snyth, organ, and piano as they relate to a noob such as myself, just starting to learn keys. How do the play styles differ from a technical perspective?

I like a variety of genres, but am really into dance, r&b, hip hop, etc. I own a 61 key snyth that I just started learning on. I have the adult beginner book by Alfred, and am also looking at the Andre Furmanczyk lessons on youtube. Both of those methods are geared at piano. I'm enjoying these methods and feel its a good start, but am wondering if they are the correct methods for the styles that I'd ultimately like to be playing? Keeping in mind that I want a well rounded understanding of playing keys and definitely want to learm more about music and its theory. Yes, I will be searching for an instructor next month. Mainly trying to understand what I should be looking for from my instruction, be it self or a teacher.

• Members

Ultimately, I'd like to express beats I have in my head to music through the keys. At this point, my goal is mainly to entertain myself. And I certainly have been able to do that. I'm finding ways to make simple scales and chords into interesting riffs, keeping me busy for hours.

I'm really a total noob, just at the point of learning notes on the clefs. I figured out that that since the chords C, D, and E are also notes in the C scale, I could take the root, 3rd, and 5th of C, play them up and down then ascend to the root, 3rd, and 5th of D, then E. Totally simple, but amazing break through for me! Wow... I'm getting addicted, fast.