Mod your Deluxe Electric Mistress Reissue for True Bypass and a status LED

Reaganomics!

• Members

Ok, so I recently took apart my reissue DEM to replace an op amp (RC4558) with a lower noise version (TL072) to try to get it to be less noisy. That mod worked fairly well, but when I looked inside I saw this:

788a695d-1.jpg

For whatever reason they are using a 3DPT switch, but not using it for true bypass or an LED like it is commonly used for, which is strange because it is much more expensive than a DPDT or SPDT switch they could've used.

a look at the board:

11b571c0.jpg

I studied the wiring and the PCB, as well as old diagrams of SPDT wiring and figured out what wires went where.

DISCLAIMER - my pedal is from the early-mid 2000's. I can't guarantee that the wires are the same colors (or the pcb even being in the same layout) in everyone's ri DEM!

I made an easier to see illustration of how this is wired:

ERoRz.jpg

1.) As you can see, the circuit path goes like this. A white wire comes from the sleeve of the input jack (another wire goes directly from that input sleeve to the direct out "Direct Out" but that is not relevant to us) and it connects to the PCB, so it is the Board Input wire.

2.) A black wire nearby is connected by a trace on the PCB to that white wire and it goes from the PCB to the switch. Since it is basically an extension of the white wire we can remove it (DISCLAIMER - There is another black wire next to this one on the board, it goes to the ring tip of the output jack. It is the ground, do not remove this. Only the black wire that goes from the board to the footswitch is removed)

3.) A yellow wire goes from the switch to the board, This is the Board Output wire.

4.) A Brown wire goes from the switch to the sleeve of the Flanged Out cable.

To do this mod you need to

1.) carefully desolder all of the wires from the footswitch

2.) Desolder the white wire from the sleeve of the input jack. Leave the other end attached to the board.