looking for a good small gig amp: recommendations needed!

Bassified

• Members

it's time to buy a new guitar amp. i am currently playing my ltd through my bass amp (i play bass as well) and i'm not getting the sounds i want. the sounds i want are distortion and reverb and those effects do not exist on my bass amp

now i only have $200cad (approx. $160 usd) and wanted some suggestions with my tight budget. essentially, i want an amp powerful enough to overcome my drummer, so around 40 watts is good. also, i'd like reverb. the one i am currently thinking about is the traynor reverbmate 40 or the fender frontman 25r, but again 25watts might not be enough.

i don't think i'm going to go for a modeler/preamp, because the store owner told me i wouldn't get the effects through a bass speaker, due to frequency. so combo amp it is.

if you used to own any of these small gig amps, tell me please and feel free to give suggestions.

i play punk and rock.

• Members

I'm no expert, but I would think you could find a used SS amp that would be plenty loud to gig with. If you can find a used Crate GFX 120, you get a lot of features (effects, 3 channels, footswitch) and it doesn't sound that bad. I'm sure there are other amps that might have a better sound, but with $160, your choices are severly limited.

You might want to look at Behringer, too.

• Members

Originally posted by Bassified

i don't think i'm going to go for a modeler/preamp, because the store owner told me i wouldn't get the effects through a bass speaker, due to frequency. so combo amp it is.

BS. I plug my Pod into my friend's bass amp and use it for effects all the time, and he uses it as a keyboard amp for his Micro Korg, which does tons of crazy effects sounds, and it's all just fine. It's not like the speaker just chops everything off at 1 KHz or something.

I have no idea about that Traynor, but avoid the Frontman.