why does this happen and how do i stop it? (tracks clipping)

Syrnett

• Members

when recording individual tracks in Adobe Audition on my laptop, I can get each track fine on its own... when i go and play the tracks together, its clipping horribly. if i lower each tracks level to stop the mixed clipping, the overall mix is way low on the volume side.

i am admittedly a complete novice at recording so any input would be appreciated.

-Erik

• Members

That is just the way it is bro.

Combined tracks have more output than one. Lower the track volumes a bit, then lower the master output so there is no clipping. When you master, normalize or eq at the end you can

bring the volume of the overall track back up!

Gary

• Members

sure,

one other thing,

you're better off compressing spikey/peaky individual tracks to be smoother, rather than crushing the master as much. Compression is your friend and your enemy.

(amateur here)

• Members

Originally posted by Syrnett

when recording individual tracks in Adobe Audition on my laptop, I can get each track fine on its own... when i go and play the tracks together, its clipping horribly. if i lower each tracks level to stop the mixed clipping, the overall mix is way low on the volume side.

i am admittedly a complete novice at recording so any input would be appreciated.

-Erik

That's interesting. I've never had this happen. What happens when you try muting the tracks and unmuting one by one?

• Members

you may also want to check the buffer size in your soundcard application. You may be able to adjust it within adobe. I can't remember what I have mine at now, but when I first started out I had the same problems you are having and that did the trick.

• Members

Originally posted by Def_Pearl_Pilot

That's interesting. I've never had this happen. What happens when you try muting the tracks and unmuting one by one?

currently, the more tracks going simultaneously, the worse the clipping gets but any one at a time is great.