no budget recording: rivera chuggah content

tdr

• Members

ok, since i have no money for real recording gear, but already have a decent mic and an mp3 player that has a recording function that works with an external mic, i figured i should try to records some clips.

i am a total newbee when it comes to recording. those clips are nothing special, but i think they sound decent for what i used to record them. same applies for the playing, just some chug stuff, nothing special.

the signalpath was:

ltd viper 407 - boss ns2- rivera khr 55 - engl xxl cab - sennheiser e609 - iriver h340 mp3 player

i still have a lot to learn when it comes to mic positioning. those two clips have different positions, i kinda prefer the first clip. what do you think?

the think that bothers me most is the fizzy top end, which i do not hear in the room, but in the clips. but i think the overall character of the amp is definetily captured.

ok, here we go: all comments appreciated

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=551143

• Members

no boost on this clip, all gain comes from the amp. that is channel 3 of the knucklehead, with the boost engaged.
i tune my seven string to drop a, lowest note in the clip was b

• Members
Originally posted by tdr

no boost on this clip, all gain comes from the amp. that is channel 3 of the knucklehead, with the boost engaged.

i tune my seven string to drop a, lowest note in the clip was b

Whoa - tuned to low a? :D

I used to play a 5 string pentasystem guitar tuned to low a through a Rivera KHR100 in my old band

Get a sub cab if you don't already have one...you'll love it...your sound is already good it will just fill in nicer with a sub

sorry I can't help with recording..I suck at recording

• Members
Originally posted by Esperanto

Whoa - tuned to low a?
:D

I used to play a 5 string pentasystem guitar tuned to low a through a Rivera KHR100 in my old band