Keystation 88es question

musicdog400

• Members

In an effort to have a lighter rig I purchased a motif es module and am thinking about the Keystation 88es. The way the patch change works, is this usable for live playing where you are often quickly switching patches in the middle of a song ? I guess I could just change them on the rack unit.

Thanks.

• Members

Hi there,

I've been doing a similar thing to you for about 18 months now. Those M-Audio controllers are fantastically light, but they are pretty useless beyond your basic MIDI functions. What I do is program my rack to minimise the number of changes I have to make during a song, which usually means setting up LOTS of zones. I have the rack within easy reach, usually on another x-stand to the side. This works pretty well once everything is set up, but I don't know how versatile the motif es is when it comes to live zones.

• Members

I have an 88ES. And I change patches a LOT during each song. I do NOT use the 88ES to change patches. It's true that you can assign the + button (on the 88ES) to advance to the next program, and the - button to go back to the previous program. So if you have your patches arranged (on your Motif sound module) in the order that you intend to play them, with no deviation in your set, then you could use the 88ES to easily change patches. But if you intend to randomly choose a patch to switch to, the 88ES involves way too many button/key presses to do that during a song. Because I use no particular song list when I gig, I employ a different order of patch changes on each gig. So I don't use the 88ES to switch patches. (I use custom software running on a small 8" touchscreen to change patches. The touchscreen sits right atop my keyboard).