Virus B.Is it good ?

synth_lover

• Members

Hey guys. I'm thinking about buying a used Virus (desktop) and I found an older one (Virus B) for $500. However, I'm still thinking about the newer one (TI) too and dont know if it's worth the price difference -about $700. I'm sure the TI has a whole lotta extra things plus maybe double or tripple the voices if I'm correct. Again, I'm no pro and would probably never put a synth to its full use, but who wouldn't want all the extras? So, I don't know. How is the Virus B and what are the main advantages of the Ti over the B ? Also, is $ 500 fair for it and what's a good price for a used TI ? Thanks.

• Members

I never owned nor played it, but I made comprehensive research on VA's to come to conclusion that if ever I will be able to have trio ROMpler, Sampler and VA, the latest will be Virus B. When it comes to ratio price/performance, it is the best offer. And I will have it one day. Effect section is powerful beyond anything from that time and long time beyond.

Of course, you should consider testimonies of real owners before buying it.

• Members

I recently bought a Kb (keyboard version if it isn't obvious :D) and a hard case for $610...in retrospect the best part of that deal is the fact that the keybed is the best I've ever played. So you may want to consider the keys version.

That aside, I was heavily weighing the different virus desktop versions and the blofeld too. For live use I needed something to replace a controller/laptop rig. I ended up thinking that the main difference (by many accounts) between the TI and the older units was the "Total Integration"--and I have softsynths for studio use so I judged it not worth the extra price. (I realize there are other improvements, polyphony, more fx, but I think at the core they are pretty similar to the older ones--some people even prefer the older sound.)