OT: Tips for finding Musicians in Los Angeles??

SpeedKing

• Members

Im a guitarist and I have my singer, and were having nothing but trouble trying to find a {censored}ing rhythm section (bassist and drummer). ive tried la weekly, recycler, craigslist, and this site, as well as posting ads up in the guitar centers, sam ash, mannys, musicians institute, amoeba, and some other hangouts where musicians might be, and I havent had much luck (nothing but flakes or retards).

what the {censored}kkk? i never imagined that it would be this {censored}ing hard to find a competent rhythm section in this city.

man any tips, words of advice, or {censored} if someone on here knows of a bassist or drummer, hit me up please.

we just have 3 requirements: 1. preferably in your early to mid 20's. 2. no hired guns 3. have pro gear and transportation.

http://www.myspace.com/drivingforcerocks

• Members

Wow! you can't spit and not hit a musician in LA. Use your Motley roots and post up flyers with you desired requirements and influences...add a phone number and Myspace url and then filter out the posers and you should be able to have a few to chose from.

• Members

need to find musicians in LA?

go to:

bathhouse
gay bar
library computer lab
library bathroom
under a bridge
the guy waiting tables
local drug dens
the coffeeshop
the bookstore
actually, any store that lets you read, try, consume before you buy. or anywhere with free refills
headshops
tobacco store
frisbee store
best buy
at the park

• Members

Originally posted by SpeedKing

have been doing that. been posting ads, but i feel like this town has too many jaded players or something

get rid of the age requirement, thats shooting yourself in the foot. Who cares if the guy is 31, what if he's got the balls for the job.

?

• Members
Originally posted by Alanfc

get rid of the age requirement, thats shooting yourself in the foot. Who cares if the guy is 31, what if he's got the balls for the job.

?