Any other solid state players?

C Fuzz

• Members

I have been playing for 16 years and many of them in clubs. I have ALWAYS used ss amps and NEVER had a desire to use tube. I am perfectly happy with my amps and consider myself a picky guy when it comes to tone ( I am a pedal guy ). I always feel pressure to play tube but I am happy with ss, anyone else in the same boat? I feel like people think I don't know anything about gear because of my amp, it bugs me because I CHOOSE ss.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I was a solid state player for 15 years because I was cheap. I went tube and I'll never look back. All of the solid state amps (Crates usually) sounded terrible when turned loud. I'm so glad I don't have to play through those anymore.

• Members

i'm recently a tube fan...but i played ss for many years...but once i compared tubes to ss by side by side a/b comparison....no contest...tubes win for warmth/feel/tone...for me anyway...if you're happy with ss then that's great. i still have a peavey xxl solidstate that just recently went head to head (no pun intended) with a marshall tsl 100 watt. I consider the peavey xxl to be the best solidstate on the market IMO but the marshall whooped it's tail...the xxl sounded decent by itself..but sounded thin once the marshall was turned on. i also compared to a 5150 side by side...5150 didn't win by much to my ears...maybe just peavey voicing but i went with a rack setup with tubes and very happy

• Members

Once your on a good ss amp for awile, you get used to it. But when u go to a tube, then you like okay whats the big deal really? Then after wile of playing a tube, you go back to a ss and your like, holy {censored} what was i thinking?? And chances are you wont go back to a SS, unless its a Roland JC-120 for clean sounds.

Kinda like that :thu:

• Members