In the market for CLEAN-sounding AMP to Gig with...

smartinez1984

• Members

I've been playing a Marshall Valvestate 2000 for a couple of years and I've been unable to get a clean, pure, sound that I like, although it was great for my previous gig. My main guitar is a Fender Fat Strat although I play a Hamer as well when the song calls for it.

I played a Fender 1965 Twin Rever Re-issue this afternoon out at our local Guitar Center and borrowed one of their fats for about 30 minutes... The clean sound was amazing. I came home and read many of the reviews which, as is expected, ranged from the "it sucks" to the "it's the best".

Our band plays what is probably best described as Spanish soft rock, jazz'ish, stuff... figured I could put pedals in front for any of the distortion and other effects.

If not this one - any recommendations on a compatible amp?

• Members

Fender Twin Reverb is by far the best clean platform amp out there. Takes pedals well.
It will suit your style perfectly and you already know you like it.

I love mine and so does my son and he plays everything. Vox wah, Maxon OD-9, Boss DD-2 delay ,or whatever pedals you like, and you are good to go.

The Xotic BB preamp is a good pedal too, but pricey for me.

• Members
You want to hear a nice clean, go down to Austin Vintage Guitars off of South Lamar and play an original blackface Twin. You will never forget it.
:thu:

:) scanned a bit for an original - just for fun...

And on EBay - Starting bid: US $2,095.00

Wonder if he'll take my house & truck as trade? ;)

• Members
:)
scanned a bit for an original - just for fun...

And on EBay - Starting bid: US $2,095.00

Wonder if he'll take my house & truck as trade?
;)

Last time I was in Austin Vintage they had an orginal for half that price. :)