mesa F-100 question, marshall & slo content

peedenmark7

• Members

hi guys,

I'm looking for some real feedback on the mesa f-100.

last feb. I found myself in a store considering a mesa product which after 27 yrs of marshall-ing it is like the sun exploding.

the amp I am looking at is the f-100 halfstack, bright orange tolex sure looks nice with my orange firebird !

anyway, the store still has it and again I find myself thinking about it.

the amp had plenty of high gain, cleaned up well, but sure seems to be voiced dark.... likely great with a true strat, my tele sounded great, but with a single hum shredder it seems very fendery.

mesa claims you can whack it down to 60 watts and it gets a bit brighter.

any tips?

I have been running 70s master marshall combos for 25 years and after I sold my jubilee halfstack like a dip {censored} back in augusts downsizing haste [now pulling my hair out trying to find another]

I have kind of given up on "quickly" replacing the jub and am thinking about this f-100 or maybe a slo.

I really like my marshalls voicing, especially the jubs extra gain over my jmps [even though the jubs cleans was for sh!t, but was really used for gain only]

would it be worth my time to simlpy pick up a soldano hot mod

and run that in my jmps for that extra gain ?

and then will it give me that little bass boost,

am lacking from jmp to jub?

anyway, I am all ears guys.

your thoughts and opinions would be greatly appreciated.

thanks !

• Members

If you're a Marshall guy, I don't think you'll like the F-100 by itself. You'll need to put an EQ in the loop, and here's why:

Great amp (I have the combo).

One thing to remember, though, is that the only built-in EQ is pre-gain (as opposed to post-gain EQ like every other modern amp in the world).