2 Original Songs on Piano and Voice Need Feedback.

jdjustice

• Members

Hi guys... I am a longtime musician but neophyte songwriter.

Was wondering if you would mind listening and critiquing one or two of my original compositions... they are both just piano and voice and were recorded using Pro Tools LE.

Anyway, here are the two songs for your digestion / critiquing:

'Tragic' by J.D. Justice

'Fine' by J.D. Justice

Thanks a bunch in advance!!

Cheers

JD

• Members

Hi, J.D.

"Tragic" sounds well-played, the piano sounds good and it sounds like you had a good mic and preamp for your vocal. But the reverb on the piano contrasted with the very dry and immediate vocal -- and especially its prominence in the early part of the song make them not quite fit together as well as I think they should, psychoacoustically. There was something odd going on in a couple spots where your voice got loud, almost a sort of whistling distortion effect. Minor ish.

This style is, of course, not exactly what's at the top of the charts but I strongly suspect you don't much care and more power to you on that. You have a distinctive voice and it's probably not going to be everyone's cup of tea. You could, perhaps, work to open it up some, or you could just say, to heck with it, I'm going to be precisely who I am right now and if you don't like it, tough. Judgment call.

[Off topic rant while killing time waiting for song to load: If Firefox is going to go out of their way to make me use the benighted and stunted Quicktime player to listen to Mp3s, I wish to heck that Apple would pull a genius off their Genius Bar and put him or her to work adding the ability to stream/start playing before the whole file has loaded. Damn, I hate QT. Rant over.]