Question about Film Scoring

zakadams

• Members

Hi everyone,

I have been asked to write *most* of the score for a film my church is making. I have some experience with scoring and orchestral writing from college, but I've never actually done a film. How does this usually work? I haven't even seen the script yet (just a short story that the film is based on) and the director is asking me how the music is coming along. Are film composers expected to write before and/or during production, or do they get to work with a finished product?

Thanks!

• Members

I would say the answer is all over the map.

In commercial productions, there is a wide range of approaches. Everything from people who score the movie from storyboards or outlines and then count on subsequent work to fit the already recorded score into the film to those who write from a more or less final visual cut. And everything in between. And off the side, as well, as some productions have no original music in them, drawing instead from library music and/or other previously recorded music.

Sounds like the director assumes you'll be creating music that he can fly in or adapt -- but perhaps he's thinking you'll give him demos that he can then request changes on... but that's just guessing from what little you've said here.

But I would say that there would be no shame in asking him precisely what he wants. That, seems to me, would be the professional thing to do, since there is no one way things are necessarily done.

• Members

I was afraid that would be the answer...I think you're right about the demos. I don't think the director really knows what he wants though (or at least he doesn't want to color my work with his opinion) so he's basically just told me to "go for it." So I'll just do that then and see what happens :) Thanks!

• Members