First posted song - Cold

HogTownDave

• Members

Hi Everyone. I've been lurking here since I started playing a couple of years ago... and I've always been impressed with the constructive support I've seen here. I figure its time for me to dive in.

I've written a few songs, and I thought that, before I try and stiffle the terror to get up on stage at an open mic, I should see what advice you folks here can give. I'm working out some simple acoustic recording, but until I set up a soundclick account, I thought I would post the lyrics to one of my songs. I'd be very happy to hear any comments.

Cold

She never took a second look

At what she tore apart

We're just some pages in her book

Another detour that she took

Another sample of her art

She's running with her head held down

And life is happening all around

But she thinks she can't be seen

[chorus]

And I say

I don't love her anymore

But all I think of is her face

And words mean nothing in this place

Where she's the sickness and the cure

Between the moon and frozen shore

I can't keep hurting anymore

But I know I won't let go

[short bridge]

She never hears a word I say

But I keep talking anyway

And hoping for the best

And I'm huddled underneath her wall

Waiting for the axe to fall

And craning for the blade

I say

I don't love her anymore

But all I think of is her face

Where she's the sickness and the cure

Between the moon and frozen shore

I can't keep hurting anymore

But I know I can't let go

I say

I don't love you anymore

But all I think of is your face

Where you're the sickness and the cure

So there it is... its out there now. The progerssion is G5, D, C... but I'll post the recording soon. Any comments gratefully received.

• Members