Song ownership

Fat Albert

• Members

Yeah... you're going to stir up a hornets nest of misinformation and lazy speculation with any forum post concerning copyrighting.

Your post is no exception.

I say 99% of these cases are utter nonsense: amatuer and struggling musicians haggling over ownership of a property that has zero monetary value. They're really just a bunch of deluded swinging dicks, you know what I mean?

Still, I can't resist joining the buzz...

I'm no expert either, but here are the basics as I understand them: If this guy had a hand in authoring an original work and committing it to fixed media, he has a legitimate copyright claim.

That means he could be legally entitled to any money you make from the work, whether selling it in CD format and, yes, performing it live. Can he stop you? Of course not. You guys are owners of the work too.

But whoever said he can't do squat if he hasn't registered a copyright doesn't know what he's talking about. Registering a copyright is a legal formality. The copyright was created the second the original work was committed to a fixed form, which can be a recording or transcription, among other things.

As a former member of the band whom you said helped arrange these songs, it sounds like he has firm ground to challenge a registered copyright.

Of course, you can sue right back and argue he didn't do a damn thing but lay down the track you told him to.

Now keep it in perspective. Are you really going to make serious dough from this work? Is this guy going to arm himself with lawyers to ensure he gets his fair share of any money the work brings in?

This can probably all be ironed out if you guy sit down and hash things out like men.

http://www.bmi.com/career/entry/533748

http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ01.pdf

• Members