A beige work in progress.

dramey

• Members

I install carpet for a living and a good 80% or more is beige. Yesterday while working on yet another, I decided to write a little ode to beige. I had a long seam to burn, and I use a loud shop vac thing to suck out the heat. I do a lot of good writing while running it as the noise blocks out any distractions. Well by the time I was done making the seam, 20ish minutes later, my little ode to beige had turned in to something else completely.

I'm still not sure what to think about it exactly. I don't typically write happy uplifting sorts of songs, and while this isn't anywhere near happy or uplifting as of yet, at least I didn't put her on a bridge wondering if she should jump like I did in the last one... Still it is still a bit out of my comfort zone.

Little Beige Life

She hates her little beige house

but too much color could hurt the resale.

She wears a little beige blouse

you don't want to stand out when you work retail.

She drives a little white car

but even it looks beige in the right light.

If you never aspire

You can never fall from any great height.

But it's alright, yeah it's alright

Some days its enough just knowing your alive.

In good time, yeah all in good time

You'll set fire to your little beige life.

I have some ideas for the second verse where she sits down for a nice beige breakfast, but its not quite there yet. The breakfast is actual names of carpet colors. Oatmeal, wheat toast, coffee and cream. There are infinite shades of beige with names like that.

I have 2 ideas for a 3rd verse. In one she comes home from the paint store determined to add a little color to her life and the color she picks is of course gray, but at least shes trying sort of thing.

In the other she just continues her little beige existence, and it ends with "but what did you expect from a little beige song?"

The second is a little more up my ally tone wise, but at the same time maybe a little too campy.