5150 Combo - Preamp Tube Suggestions?

plastic

• Members

I've got myself a 5150 combo. I like the amp even though it is as heavy as a small truck. I had a head version shortly after they frst came out and was reminded after cranking up the combo that they had a fair bit of noise going on. Does anyone have any preamp tube suggestions to lower the high gain noise?

• Members

Toss in a JAN GE 5751 in V1.

Do not do this....:facepalm: That will completely neuter the combo.. I've been using the combo for many many years.. There are no tubes that will sufficiently quiet the hiss on the combo lead channel, besides lower gain tubes which just kill the amp.. Its designed for 12ax7's and absolutely sounds best with those..

I've found a few tubes that were a bit quieter, but they were individual tubes.. I have 1 JJ that quiets it down a bit an Electro-harmonix that does well in V1 too.. Just buy 3 or 4 different tubes and try them in the V1 position and pick the one that sounds the best.. But the combo has a lot of hiss on the lead channel especially when cranked.. I've just gotten used to the sound over the years and it doesn't bother me, but if it does bother you the only way to kill the hiss is a noise gate in the loop.. And so far I havent found a gate that works in the loop without messing with the tone a bit.. For in front of the amp the ISP Decimator pedal works great, but that will only help against excess feedback, etc..

• Members

I run a Tungsol in V1 and chinese 9th gen silver dragons the rest of the way. I stay mostly on the rhythm channel now...but theres still noise on the lead channel with the gain at 0....you cant get rid of it. Noise gates dont work well in the loop....in my case, they have just added more noise. I keep an ns-2 in the front, and thats about as quiet as itll get.

• Members