Guitar Soli recording, am I doing it wrong ?

Demonofthefall

• Members

I'm trying to record some guitar solos for my band's upcoming demo and I sincerely think this is the most difficult thing I've done in my whole life.

Basically, I play with a metronome and record each group of 15-20 notes about 400 times. Usually there are 3-5 takes in there that are acceptable. This process is extremely long and painful ... so I'm wondering, is this the common approach to record guitar solos ?

Are there really people out there that can play a one minute long solo and record it as a whole ?! I guess the stuff I'm trying to play is not easy (see youtube link in my sig for Live performance!). I have been practicing like hell for the last 3 months and that's not enough, I'm no Petrucci. Even though I hate the idea, I should probably simplify my parts.

Ampwise, I currently use a Mesa Mark IV but I'm thinking about switching to something more forgiving like a recto.

Apart from that, any studio tricks that could help me ?

I know I'm asking for a "garbage in, magical pony out" kind of trick so I don't expect much. And perhaps I should stick to rhythms since I'm apparently not good enough for leads:facepalm:

• Members
if you use a DAW you could set it to loop record and stack the tracks up and do take after take ,you should eventually get a good one or then cut and paste them .

I think that is pretty much what I am doing except that I set up loops in Guitar Pro. Another thing is that when I play, I can't tell if a take is good enough because I tend to focus more on the backing track. It would help to have someone else in the room with me that would say stop whenever I have a good one ... but hey, who wants to sit next to me as I play the same 15 notes a few hundred times :confused:

• Members

I'm trying to record some guitar solos for my band's upcoming demo and I sincerely think this is the most difficult thing I've done in my whole life.