Peavey Classic 30, best way to get higher gain???

Beckman

• Members

Not another C30 thread.:facepalm:

Hey guys (and dolls), I have a C30 that is stock. I really like it. I have been playing it with a pedal (various), I just started playing the drive channel recently. I really like it.

My dilemma is, I want to vary the dirt. Maybe more gain. What have you done?Changed the tubes (JJ's), pedals (good one for Marshally tones), blue guitar upgrades, speaker change?

I know this is a loaded question, and there are probably a bunch of threads already, but I don't care. I really don't have the $$ to get another amp as I want a new guitar. I don't play out, so this is just for me.

Any input would be welcome.

• Members

Could you give a few examples of the kind of gain you are talking about. Songs, bands...

Sorry, a variety. I play Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Lenny Kravitz, Pink Floyd, Metallica, System of the Down, Godsmack, Muse, Kings of Leon, old 80's metal, zeppelin, Foo fighters, bluesish, Classic Rock, etc.

• Members

How much more gain do you need?

My C50 + a boost is more than enough gain, IMO, for just about any style of music.

Really, an unboosted C50 is almost there to begin with...I'm wondering if you're not running more gain than the songs require.

If you're already boosting the front end and still need more, your best bet is another amp.

Failing that, look into getting a dedicated distortion pedal like the Boss Power Stack (great sounding pedal, BTW)

• Members

I'd look into a high gain distortion like a Tone Freak severe for more modern metal sounds on the clean channel and then a simple overdrive like a screamer, timmy, sd-1 to boost the lead channel if needed for different tones. Then you'll have your clean, od, boosted od and modern high gain type tones all in three switches.