Good acoustic that plays like an electric?

VanArnaoutov

• Members

I've been playing electric guitar for over 5 years now... I'm getting my first acoustic and I need you guys to help me out.

I want something decent (not cheap) that sounds great and plays great, something that can play similarly to an electric (in the upper frets) but still retain a nice acoustic tone. Maybe something like Yngwie plays, you know, something you can really "shred" on? Somewhere under 1k, but I can go higher if it's really worth it.

Thanks in advance,

-Van

• Members

Hey. Action-wise it's hard to beat Larrivee (in my experience). I have an L-03E (round shouldered dreadnaught). You might want to try one of the single-cutaway models (upper fret access). The ebony fretboards on these (and on Taylors as well) are really nice...

front_reg.jpg

• Members

I may not like their sound, but I've never seen any other acoustic guitar with as action as low as some of the Taylors I've seen. I mean, you could think of a note on those guitars and it would sound.

Larrivee makes extremely high-quality stuff, and you could probably get the action down to a very comfortable level. I've heard some electric players say they play "stiff," though. Since I play acoustic more, I really don't notice.

The one every electric player I've heard say they like, though, is the Tacoma Cheif. The action can get pretty damn low, and the necks are more like electric guitars than most other acoustics. And yes, the cutaway is there for you.

Ovations have very comfortable necks. However, I've never been a fan of their sound and I've never felt the roundbacks were comfortable. Many electric players swear by 'em, though. But I just don't think they sound "true acoustic" enough.

• Members