Time for a new acoustic

lobsterman

• Members

I've been playing guitar for about 5 or 6 years now and I started out with an ovation that im still using now. Ive come to notice it doesnt have a very open sound. It is very focused and not very loud and resonant. I played my brothers lotus ($100) guitar and it blew me away. Its a dreadnought and it is really loud and resonant it has that open sound i want. The problem is its lacking bottom. I think the sound i want is like a D-28 sound. I really like Beck's sounds on his Sea Change album and he uses a D-28. What are some cheaper alternatives that i could find at a guitar center.

No cutaway. Electronics are nice but I dont really want a big control thing put in the side cause that cant be good for the sound.

• Members
Originally posted by JasmineTea
I have one of THESE and I love it. About $800.(list minus 40%)

Hey! I just played one of those in a local shop a few days ago and I was very impressed. I was a little put off by the fact that the bridge and fretboard were not wood but, having thought about it for a couple days, I'm ok with it. It sure sounded good. The Micarta looks and feels like ebony and I'm sure it's way more stable than ebony (which is prone to shrinking and cracking) so what the hell? I'm no purist or luddite. Besides, it saves the elephants the trouble of dragging those increasingly rare ebony logs out of the swamps.
    I bet that Micarta (or something like it) becomes the norm for factory guitar fretboards and bridges in the next couple of generations.

• Members
Originally posted by bjorn-fjord