How hard is it to strip and refinish my acoustic?

YEMandy

• Members

I have an old Ensenada acoustic (all black with white binding and pick guard) I would like to completely strip and refinish. How hard would this be to do? Keep in my mind I have NEVER done any sort of guitar repair before.

The guitar is pretty much a piece of crap, but it was my fathers from the 70's and it was the guitar I leaned on, so I don't want to completely destroy the thing.

I found some websites on how to refinish a guitar, but those were all for electrics and they are a bit more solid/sturdy and straight forward. Any suggestions out there?

here's a pic, it does not look the good in real life or up close, lots of scratches and stuff.

• Members

When I got my 1932 Dobro it had been painted black (fortunately not the neck), the coverplate was caved in, cone crunched - owned by the daughter of the original owner. It was, however, as you say, a piece of (very old) crap. I took on as a project taking it completely apart, removing the neck from the body and stripping the black paint down to the original wood (the original finish came off too). I hand applied a seal coat, then a mild sunburst using stains from StewMac, and resprayed a lacquer finish that is pretty good (not quite as dark as modern bursts but looks correct for the period).

I built a jig to straighten the cover plate, bought a new cone and saddle (the spider was slightly bent but I straightened it), replaced the tuners, and I've been playing that old 'bro for about 15 years.

I would never consider refinishing a good guitar, but like yours, there wasn't anything to loose, so what the heck.. If you have a bolt on neck I would consider seperating it - and mask everything you can't remove.

StewMac has all the supplies plus some pretty good instructional materials. Their rattle cans of nitro cellulose lacquer are pretty good if you don't have a spray booth and detail gun.

StewMac finishing stuff

• Members