Playing slide w/ acoustic

BlueStrat

• Members

Okay, here's the deal:

I've been playing since 1969, electric since 1971, and I started playing slide as soon as I took up electric. I studied Duane Allman, Joe Walsh, Lowell George, Ry Cooder, Johnny Winter, etc etc and actually got pretty good on electric slide-smooth and accurate. Recently, I've startted doing an acoustic duo and a solo. But my acoustic slide playing, in a word, sucks. It sounds raspy and buzzy and just ass bad.

Is there a different technique? Different slide? I usually use a glass slide. I'd like to be able to pull off some Robert Johnson-type stuff and it just sounds like a steaming pile.

Help.

• Members

I like different slide materials for different guitars or songs. Hell, they're cheap enough, get one of everything. Get a brass slide and try it out, it's a grittier sound, and I like it. Also, while any guitar can be a slider, some are better than others. Have you tried any of the mid priced resonators? Once you play on a reso, pretty much every other acoustic sounds like moist ass. I like the punch and decay, as a standard acoustic just rings too much and requires a lot more muting than a reso (though of course muting is essential even on a reso). Also, are you playing in standard or an open tuning? String selection can alter tone quite a bit, both in guage and whether you have a wound or unwound third.

One trick I learned is to cut a piece of guitar cord, and put it under the strings behind the second fret, then tune up. It cuts out a lot of the ringing and gives a more reso type note decay. It's a bit of a bitch to hit the ocatve without a cutaway, however.

You never know what will work until you give it a try.

And as far as trying to sound like RJ, good luck to you. :cool:

• Members