mixing acoustic guitar tracks

jbush4

• Members

any suggestions on how to make good acoustic mixes?

i tried doubling the track, slightly offsetting it, and phasing to the right on the second track.

this sounds pretty good... but i was wondering if anyone else could throw a bit of expertise my way.

thanks.

• Members

There's a bunch of ways to create stereo images. I'm not an expert, but I tried a few things when I had a nice home studio.

1: Use two mics to record, pan R and L.
2: Use three mics to record. Center one mic in the mix, pan the other two R and L.
3: Stereo chorus.
4: Stereo echo.
5: Combination of the above, or anything you can think of.

I'm sure there are other ways, these come to mind.

One stereo image I tried that work realy well was with a recorder that had cut-and-paste. What I did was copied the original to another track, and then moved it "backward" a few incraments in time from the other, so it lagged just slightly. Did this with a grand piano and it sounded great. Simaler to a chorus, but smoother.

• Members

All of the methods that JT suggests are good ones. I always like to pan hard left/right and then offset one of two tracks for a bigger stereo image. Generally the longer the offset in milliseconds the more pronounced the imaging becomes. However at a certain point the length of the offset becomes self defeating because the sound starts to become more like a slapback effect and less like a clean stereo image.