Fg-75 Japan vs Taiwan

allthumz

• Members

I'm thinking of buying a FG-75 off E-Bay. So much for my advice of demo, demo, demo. :D There has been so much great stuff written here and in the HC Reviews about Yamahas that I am going to take a chance on one.

There are two label types. Yellow label 75s are from Taiwan. Red labels are from Japan.

Is one any better than the other? It seems that red label 75s are held in very high esteem. Is that true or am I imagining this?

Yamaha experts (babablowfish et al;)) tell me what you know!

Thanks!

- Robert

• Members

First of all, I am no expert. Just needed to get that out of the way.

Yes, the Red Labels have a certain collector's appeal. Just as everyone laughed at Yamaha when they first made guitars - "What?! Japanese making guitars? Get outta here.," so too did everyone scoff at the likelihood that the Taiwanese would ever produce anything worth playing. Recently we have seen the same prejudice regarding guitars coming out of China. Fact is, the Taiwanese produced some truly great guitars, my FG-340 among them. And the mainland Chinese are producing some real knockouts as well.

So where a guitar was made is not as important as where that particular model was made. What I mean is, some Taiwanese made models were great, some not. Some Red Label Yamahas may have more collector's value but are not necessarily better than other models which were made in Taiwan.

I have no first-hand experience with the FG-75. The reviews on HC are very favorable though

My advice would be to read those reviews and see what those who have them say. See if the one made inTaiwan are as highly regarded. If so, then it is all a matter of collector's value, like the difference between a first edition and a second edition. Same book but different collector's value.

Anyway, that's my 2 cents.

• Members

Originally posted by babablowfish

First of all, I am no expert. Just needed to get that out of the way.