best pickup system for taylor 110

arcadesonfire

• Members

hi friends,

first, i'll be honest... i'm an electric guitarist, but i've got some gigs coming up and need a pickup for my acoustic,

the guitar is the bottom line, pressed wood taylor... a wonderful guitar so far as i can tell, but again, i'm an electric guitarist, and i don't know quite as much about acoustic tone,

anywho, i will be playing these gigs in small new york clubs. i'll be playing with a drummer, pianist, violist and singer, i suppose i need a pickup that will produce a sound that fits into the dreadnought's unique spot in the sonic spectrum (i.e., the highs are more important than the lower mids); in other words, i'm not doing a solo gig and don't need to fill the whole place with sound on my own,

it would be nice if the pickup also sounds decent for recording so that i could blend it with a mic'd input,

finally, i don't want to drill any holes or do any major surgery on the guitar... so an under the saddle or soundhole pickup is fine, but no onboard preamps

ok, those are my main questions, you can stop reading here and tell me what you think, or if you'd like to see some more questions, read on,

thanks very much

i've done a bit of research, and i'm curious...

1. what's the difference between magnetic pickups for acoustic guitars and the magnetic pickups i put in my electrics?

2. some of the more expensive systems include a magnetic pickup and a condenser mic or a magnetic pickup and a piezo, that sounds like a good idea to blend the differing qualities, but is that only necessary for solo players who need to cover a wide frequency range and not so important for players who are fitting into an ensemble?

thanks again

• Members

a good soundhole pickup can give a pretty good acoustic tone.

a really good mic gives the best acoustic tone

a piezo pickup gives the second best tone

a soundhole pickup gives the third best tone i think