Question about soundhole pickups

DarkHorseJ27

• Members

I'm certainly not a expert by any means but here's what I think.

Because there are usually differences in the make up of the acoustic strings versus the electric strings I would think there are going to be difference in the pole pieces, windings and the housings.

• Members

Like daklander I am no expert but the general consensus around here seems to be that soundhole pickups are the least acoustic sounding of any kind of acoustic pickup. I use a Fishman passive single coil soundhole pickup myself and for live gigs it does what I need. I think soundhole pickups basically pickup the magnetic vibration from the strings (like a solidbody electric) and not from the vibration of the guitar's top.

• Members

Let me rephrase my question. How do they make the soundhole pickups sound more acoustic than typical electric guitar pickups?

If you stick a soundhole pickup under some acoustic strings and some electric strings (making adjustments with pole pieces of course), it will sound acoustic, at least for a soundhole pickup.

If you still an electric pickup under both types of strings, it will sound electric (besides being kind of crappy on the wound bronze strings).

What I what to know is what in the inner working of these pickups account for that difference.

• Members

Differences, as I mentioned, in the pole pieces, windings and housings, being different, will create different signals, thus different tones.

If you want particulars I would suggest hitting Google and Ask.com pretty hard for information about pickup theory, science and design. You may be able to find a good WIKI, or go to Seymour Duncan and other builder's sites and see if there is any technical information there.

• Members