Dobro Houndogs-Bark or Bite ?

windmill

• Members

Dobro is a spider bridge, gives a nasal sort of country sound. It's different than a biscuit bridge. I haven't cared for any of the Dobros since the early '90s and before. I think that's about when Gibson took over, could be wrong. I've had 2 older dobros that I wish I still had, but the newer ones don't seem to be on par with those.

Your Regal is a biscuit cone? What don't you like about it?

Mid range resos I'd look at Republic on eBay or Hot Rod Steel from Lenny at http://www.nationalguitar.com/catalog/hot-rod-steel , these are biscuit. I think Republic has a real inexpensive wood spider bridge, but I have no experience with that model. Hot Rod Steel either, but Lenny looks like he went out of his way to get a nice one to market.

• Members

The original Hound Dog was one of Dobro's middle priced models and I'm pretty sure was what Josh Graves played. The current ones are made overseas and imported for Dobro - it is now their budget model. I haven't played one but they are supposed to be good starter or basic spider bridge resonators. They come in both round and square neck - square as you know are strictly for lap style play, roundies can be played either lap or Spanish style (the round neck won't sit as nicely on your leg however).

As Neal say, spider bridge resonators have that long sweet singing sustain that we associate with bluegrass, Jerry Douglas, Cindy Cashdollar, Graves.... They are definitely the instrument for played bluesgrass dobro (lower case, not the brands). If that what you want thye Hound Dog would be a good choice by also look into the Paul Beard Goldtones - again, an Asian built guitar that Beard puts his cones in and sets up. If your Regal is a spider you can put one of Paul's cones in yourself.