$1300 Guitar Suggestions

Samicklover

• Members

Hi there, In a few weeks I'm planning on going to a few guitar shops to try some instruments out and I need some suggestions. I've been a bassist for the past six years, I have a Fender MIA Jazz Deluxe and have been pretty satisfied with it. Lately I've been playing my current electric guitar quite a lot, its a Peavey Predator... =/ and sucks pretty bad.

I really enjoy SRV style tone, think Lenny/Riviera Paradise as well as John Mayer's solo sound. I'm thinking that a strat style is definetly in order, perhaps a Fender Stratocastor Deluxe? My problem is I know all about good basses but not much about good guitar names. Suggestions anyone?

I was also thinking of picking up the Peavey Classic 30, I've read some threads around here and that seems to be a pretty good combo for the price.

• Members

Originally posted by psb962

omni has a $1300 Fender in the spam thread. Brand new. He didnt like it.

He doesn't like anything.

If you can come up with another $300 you could get an Eric Johnson Strat. Every review says it's a winner.

• Members

G&L - the better Fender.

IMO

starting @ around $950. They also have the added bonus of being able to be ordered with about 30 finishes, 4 different necks, different neck finishes/wood options, and pickguard/knob colors, which Fender can't offer. I absolutely love my Legacy ($1100, took about 2.5 months from order to delivery) and highly suggest the brand.

• Members

Originally posted by hondro

what's wrong with a hot rod?

peavey classics sound better than them and cost 300 dollars less.

in otherwords, hotrods dont sound as good as peavey classics but cost 300 dollars more.

in other words, hotrods cost a lot of money for rather medium level sounds. I wouldnt go so far as to say they sound bad. they just dont sound good.

I had one as my first tube amp for about a week, i did not like it after a week.