Shimming a neck

Knottyhed

• Members

Ok, so i've got a guitar and I'm unable to give it a super-low action without losing the play in the floyd trem (as I've lowered it too much). I've come to the conclusion that the neck angle is the problem and therefore I need to shim the neck (it's bolt on). Anybody any advice about this - i've looked on a few guitar sites and most of them are suggesting I shim it using business card - surely that'd dampen vibrations and lose me sustain and tone? Anybody done this and found any problems?

Basically, I'm after advice on what to be aware of when shimming the neck (as I've never done it before) and what material to use to do it.

• Members

Yes, use a thin card or as suggested, a piece of phone book cover. Something with a shiny looking surface I've found to work best. Material like that seems to be a little denser and compresses less. Really thin plastic works well, if you can find some.

Just remember that you don't need but one really thin piece of material to make a difference. It doesn't seem logical that something the thickness of a business card could alter the neck angle much, but it definitely does.

• Members

Thanks for the input so far guys. Sounds like I have nothing to worry about as far as my guitar's existing tone is concerned. How should I cut the card - I gather off Jemsite that 10x57mm is about right (57mm being the width of the neck pocket). I think 10mm is a little under 1/2 an inch for those of us that don't use metric.

I'm also assuming that in my case I need to place the shim at the body end to tilt the headstock backwards...

• Members

Originally posted by M-1 Fan

I used two guitar picks under my '62 Tele's neck and it works fine.

Thanks for the tip. That's probably a very good idea as it'll make it easy to experiement with different thicknesses.

I assume it really is a fairly simple mod, I've never un-bolted a guitar's neck so if there's anything I need to look out for i might as well find out now.